Forums

I'm new to my mgr position (3 months) and my directs (team leaders) are former peers from 2 promotions ago. So I do have (I think) a good relationship with my skips, since I used to manage them directly (using a lot of the MT tools - O3's, feedback, etc)

It's now time for performance reviews, and I'm planning to do skip level meetings to gather 360 feedback on my directs. I have the following questions planned to cover during the skip level meetings:

is your supervisor approachable/available to you
does your supervisor coach you well
do you feel you can communicate openly with your supervisor
(there's one more but I can't remember it)

I'm also asking my director to have the same skip level meeting with my directs, asking the same question (trying to reduce uncertainty for my directs).

My question is - I can't help feeling like I'm just encouraging the skips to "narc" on their boss, although to some degree I suppose I am. What I'm trying to do is gather feedback to use in coaching them and setting direction for them for the next year coming up, which we can then review progress and so on during the year.

Any suggestions for how to handle this? I'm planning to have the meetings next week. (I'm going to listen this weekend to the skip level podcasts so hopefully these questions are already addressed :D )

bflynn's picture

Short advice - don't use skip levels this way. Use skip level meetings to find out about processes and such that may not be running the way you'd like. It feel like you're asking people to rat out their bosses because that is exactly what you're doing. You should have skip levels, but don't use them for the purpose of investigating your directs.